Nevada Tattoo License

Nevada Tattoo License

Do you want to get a Nevada Tattoo license? If this is what interests you at this point, then you are already on the right path to your dream job. Learn everything about the state requirements, your initial steps, and your eligibility. We will make it easier for you to step closer to your aims.

How to Get a License to Tattoo?

So let us start. Nevada, like any other state, has its special requirements in this sphere. First, residents of the state should be aware that the sector is overseen by the Department of Health and Human Services. Generally, every state has its own regulatory body that controls the field. However, when there is also health involved, it is essential to have more control over the sector. Thus, every county or city also has local laws that tattoo artists have to follow. Some locations, for instance, Clark county, have very strict laws to be followed.

To work as a tattoo artist, Nevada residents need to get a Body Art Card. For that, it is necessary to be:

  • At least 18 years old
  • Pass an exam with at least an 80% score
  • Have training in the field (minimum six months)
  • Own a certificate for training on infectious diseases

Examinations and Courses

Along with other conditions, the examination is perhaps one of the most important parts of the process. There is a sanitation exam with about 30 questions on the subject. The questions are in a multiple-choice format. To succeed, applicants should be aware of sanitation demands and main techniques.

Applicants get the results of the exam immediately after it. In case of failure, it is always possible to retake it. However, it is forbidden to provide services in the field unless the results are positive.

Residents can schedule an examination through an online system.

As to the special courses or training, it is compulsory to attend a training on infectious diseases. Health precautions are the most important aspect of this specialization. So, all future specialists need to be well aware of them.

Every county or city offers various courses that include the most important points and aspects.

Nevada Tattoo License Renewal

As in the case of a California tattoo license, that of Nevada also has an expiration date. The period they are valid is two years. After that, tattoo specialists will need to renew them. They have 60 days for that.

For the process, it is necessary to complete two steps:

  • Schedule an appointment online
  • Complete the renewal application in person

For this, the residents of the state will need to visit the Southern Nevada Health District Main Facility.

Along with other things, it is obligatory to submit proof of sanitation training and fees.


Of course, it is important to love your profession. However, salary opportunities are not less important. In NV, the average salary is a little over $50,000. Anyway, the income can be more for experienced and skilled specialists.

There are states, where the average income is almost twice as high as in Nevada. Among the highest paying ones are:

  • New York ($99,900)
  • New Hampshire ($91,722)
  • Indiana ($84,944)
  • Wisconsin ($83,636)

To conclude, you have the initial information to get started. Good luck with your endeavors.

Zara N

Zara N

Zara is a content writer and a psychologist. She loves both of her professions with passion. The spheres she has chosen seem totally different. Anyway, she has so far succeeded in combining and linking them. Zara works as a family psychologist daytime and in the evenings she immerses in writing. Besides working as a content writer, she has managed to write her own books. She is an author of a psychological book for parents called “Some issues on upbringing”. She also writes therapeutic stories for children. Right now Zara is writing (or trying to write) her first psychological novel.