Nevada Driver License

Nevada Driver License

There are different ways of renewing a driver’s license in Nevada and you must pay $23.25 for each renewal period.

Steps to get a Nevada Instruction Permit

An instruction permit makes it possible for teenage drivers to practice driving supervised by a 21+ licensed driver. It is actually the very first step of getting a license and driving legally.

Permit requirements

  • To begin the licensing process, you must be at least 15½ years old
  • Secondly, you must visit a local DMV office and complete the given application form
  • It is important to bring your parent or legal guardian with you so that they can authorize issuance and give their consent
  • Thirdly, you must pass a vision teste to prove that you meet the minimum vision standards (20/40 in one eye)
  • Afterwards, you must pass a knowledge test, which covers traffic laws, highway signs, markings and safe driving rules of the road. You will need to pay the $26 test fee, which also includes the fee for initial skills test
  • You should also bring required documentation

Required documents

  • Documents of identity (for example, state-issued birth certificate, United States Passport or United States Passport Card and so on)
  • Nevada residential address (two valid documents)
  • Social Security Number (Social Security card, W-2 (with full SSN), IRS Form 1099 or Paystub with full legal name)
  • Certificate of School Attendance if you are under 18

Steps to get a Nevada driver’s license for teenagers

The state of Nevada allows teenagers between the ages of 16 and 18 get a full driver’s license with some driving restrictions.

License requirements

  • To start with, you must have held your instruction permit for at least six months
  • You must also have completed driver education course, as well as a behind-the-wheel training (50 hours)
  • Then, you must visit a DMV office and complete the application form by properly answering the questions
  • You will need to bring proper documentation to support the process
  • Do not forget to bring your parents/legal guardian so that they can give their written consent and take financial responsibilities
  • The next step is to schedule a driving skills test, take it and successfully pass it. This test is to assess your ability to drive a vehicle safely in a variety of traffic situations
  • Finally, you must pay the license fee of $23.25 and receive the driver’s license

Bring the following documents

  • Your instruction permit
  • Documents of identity (bearing your full legal name and date of birth)
  • Driver Education Certificate of Completion (or official school transcripts)
  • Certificate of vehicle registration
  • Evidence of insurance card

Driving restrictions

  • Not operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. (except for a scheduled event)
  • Not carrying passengers under 18 years of age for the first six months (except for an immediate family member)

Steps to get a Nevada adult driver’s license

  • Hold your instruction permit
  • Schedule a driving skills test and pass it
  • Bring your instruction permit, proof of identity, registration certificate and insurance card with you
  • Pay the required license fee and get the license

Written knowledge test

In the state of Nevada, drivers are required to pass a written knowledge test to be eligible for licensure. The test is to evaluate an applicant’s understanding of highway signs and markings, traffic laws and safe driving practices.

You can take the test by the automated testing equipment or with a paper test. In case you have problems with reading or understanding, you can take an oral test.

Restricted driver’s license

The state of Nevada issues restricted driver’s licenses to certain persons under some particular circumstances. You may get a restricted license providing that you are at least 14 years old and demonstrate family hardship. If you need to drive to school, then you may also be eligible for the license.

Nevada driver’s license renewal

You can find the expiration date on the front of your Nevada driver’s license. The Department of Motor Vehicles notifies of the upcoming renewal by mail before the license is due to expire. Nonetheless, it is your responsibility to renew the license, even if you do not receive any notification.

In person

To renew the license in person, you must first make an appointment and then visit a DMV office. Afterwards, you should request an application form, complete it and submit proof of identity and Social Security Number. You will also be required to pass a vision test and get at least 20/40 in one eye.

In case you fail to renew the license on time and it expires for more than a year, you will also be required to pass a knowledge test and an on-road driving skills test.


You can renew the license online providing that you qualify for online renewal. Accordingly, you should go through this link, sign in to your account and follow the given instructions. The last step is to pay the renewal fee $ 42.25 and complete the renewal process.

By mail

Only those can renew the license by mail, who serve in the US military forces, or who are currently out of state. You should complete the application form, include the fee and send it.

Note that the state of Nevada does not automatically extend the license expiration date for military personnel.

Mailing Address

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City
NV 89711
Fax: (775) 684-4797

Nevada driver’s license classifications

Class C

To clarify, this license allows the licensee to operate common cars, vans and pickup trucks.

Class A (Commercial)

To clarify, this license allows the licensee to operate any combination of vehicles with gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more.

Class B (Commercial)

To clarify, this license allows the licensee to operate any single vehicle with GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more.

Class M

This license is for operating a motorcycle or moped on Nevada roads.

Nevada driver’s license restrictions

Restriction B

This one indicates that a driver needs to wear glasses or contact lenses.

Restriction F

This one, in short, is for additional rearview mirrors.

Restriction G

This one, in short, is for daylight driving only.

Restriction 6

This one, in short, is for yearly vision examination.

Restriction 7

This one, in short, is for yearly medical letter.

Restriction 8

This one, in short, is for yearly driving test.

Restriction JN

To clarify, this one if for Instruction Permit.

Costs associated with a Nevada driver’s license

  • Instruction Permit fee: $23.25
  • Teenage License Fee: $23.25
  • License Fee: $ 42.25 (for eight years)
  • Renewal Fee: $42.25 for an 8-year license ($23.25 for a 4-year license).
  • Late Renewal Fee: $10

Contact Information

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711
Las Vegas Area
(702) 486-4368 (486-4DMV)
Reno/Sparks/Carson City
(775) 684-4368 (684-4DMV)
TDD (Hearing Impaired Only)
(775) 684-4904

Seda S

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.